Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The definition of success might be different for different people. For me, success is achieving the goal that you have targeted earlier.The prompt above state that true success is measured by evaluating the target sets for oneself. I strongly disagree with the author views because of the following reasons.

Firstly, targets an initial state. We cannot say we get success only after putting some target in anything. For example, If a student makes the mind to get high marks in his final examination. He makes a target score for the examination. Now, can we call him to succeed? No, rather it is just an initiation of success. After his continuous hard work, if he gets his targeted marks, then only we can call him to succeed in his target. That is the reason, goal setting is the initial stage, and achieving it is the ultimate success.

Secondly, Success is the feeling of achieving something. Do you feel like gaining something only by setting a target? For example, a civil engineer became successful after making a strong bridge not by targetting to make it.

However, some people argue that whoever sets the goal is greater than the people who don't even think about the target. This is somehow true also. But the author is talking about oneself. For oneself, setting the goal is not the final success. Success is also linked with happiness.

Do you feel happy after setting the target? Of course not. You only feel happy after achieving it. So, true success can imagine only after achieving target.

To sum up, the goal set is the initial stage and the ultimate success is the phase after achieving it.