The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches.

Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing

companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use

of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported

by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can

also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady

decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how

the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia, it is stated that a rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. The conclusion is based on the childish assumption by the author: Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Food-processing companies have also been adding

salicylates to foods as preservatives for the past several decades. However, before this recommendation is properly evaluated three-question must be answered.

Are the aspirin and salicylates have cent percent same properties? Being in the same family doesn't mean that their functioning is completely similar. For example, Being from the same family element, nitrogen is very useful for plant growth whereas nitrogen mixes with water in the presence of hydrogen make acid which is very harmful to the plant. So same family doesn't mean they work

a similar way. The above quote of the author needs to provide more scientific shreds of evidence.

Similarly,, is salicylates is the only factor responsible for reducing headaches? The author trying to telling an effect cause only by one

effect. There might be several reasons for reducing headache victims. For example, pollution is another factor of headache.

In Media, the pollution level might be controlled. The number of afforestation might have increased. Because of all the fresh air available in surrounding may decline the number of headache people. If this reason is true then the above argument doesn't hold water.

Further, are all people with headaches reporting sincerely? Headache is a common disease in our daily lifestyle. As information flow(about health) through social media has been increased day by day, people are taking headaches not seriously. Due to this might not reporting headaches. This might also seem to reduce the number of headache patients. These statements if true make above

conclusion of the author, completely senseless.

In conclusion, the above argument as stand now is completely fallacious because it relies on several unwarranted assumptions

If the author is capable of answering three-question above and provide more evidence with scientific research study, then it will be

possible to accept salicylates as the main factor of reduction of headache reported in Media.