In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given argument, it is stated that Prunty County should undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections.This argument is based on the evidence that the number of accidents has not decreased in Prunty County even though the highway speed limit is decreased from 55 to 45 miles per hour. But in major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago. In my opinion, the authors conclusion seems not completely true because of the following reasons:

Is Prunty county highway and Butler highway are comparable? In above statement the author didnt mention any information about the sturcture land of the two county.Their might be different land structure in two state making the highway different in two state. Ultimately, the structure of highway differs the number of accidents. If this hold true, then the above argument doest hold water.

Was the number of vehicle and the population using it are also same? The author haven't given any data of vehicles and their users. In one state people might use their personal vehicles more and in another state the public vehicle might used more. More personal vehicles means more number of vehicle which actually means more number of accidents. Due to the lack of this information and data the above author's conclusion is not strong.

In conclusion, the above argument seems completely falacious now because of its reliance on several unwarrented assumption. If the author is capable to answer above questions and provide more evidences with scientific reasearch, then it is possible to analyse the feasibility of implementation of the same stategy of Butler County in the Prunty County.