Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As the young generation today yearn for fame and recognition, it must be kept in mind that these cannot be achieved just by dreaming but a lot of effort is needed to be put before achieving them. Hence it won’t be incorrect to say that instant fame is an illusion and it is only through setting up of long term goals and planning accordingly which leads to them. Fame is a result of success. Setting up of pragmatic goals and following well organized plan can lead one to success and hence to fame.

Setting up of long term goals will help to keep one focused in his work and hence one will be able to put significant effort to work on those goals. Along with goal setting, a well organized plan further a necessity to achieve the goal. A goal set up to learn computer programming within a few months for instance, need to be supported with proper planning. These may include first listing out different programming languages to be learnt and then setting a time period for each of them. A meticulous follow up of the plan along with dedication to learn more and more will help one to achieve one ‘s objective.

Long term goals may be related to something of social importance like goal to clean the surroundings of the community or may even be personal goals related to career or self development. When one realises one’s goal in life and works all to achieve it, he will reach the zenith of his work. People like Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerburg, all of them had a clear goal in their mind. They had plans for it which they executed properly and they are not only successful but have recognition not only in the silicon valley but in every household and in the electronics market.

Hence, before yearning for fame and recognition, one should ravenously work and put effort to achieve one’s goal. With meticulous planning of work, one will achieve success and this success in the long run will make them famous. So instead of seeking instant fame, young people should be encouraged to set up long term realistic goals and further they should be encouraged to organize their plans to achieve their goals. Everything else will follow.