Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Whether youngsters should pursue long-term goals could be weighed in many aspects. However, the argument is based on generalization. The statement simply assumes that all teenagers can have settled theirs goals in this age, but in reality, most of students, especially in Asian, do not know what they actually interest in. Moreover, it is presumptuous to suggests that pursuing long-term goals is conducive to them. Factors others than realistic goals are also responsible for teenagers to succeed. Therefore, even though having long-term plans may be advantageous, there is no guarantee that every young man will benefit from it.

Admittedly, the speaker’s claim might appear to have considerate merit. After all, a realistic goal can make oneself having more motivation, and therefore more likely to perseverance and succeed. Yet the speaker fails to provide a clear litmus test for measuring how many students actually know what will they do, or interest in the future, or do the goals set by them is what they truly love, or it is just the goals of their parents. When we speak of “long-term goals” for teenagers, the following come to mind: entering a good university, being a doctor or scientist, and finally having a high payment job. Curiously, most of those long-term aims are set by their parents, this may not be what children set for their future. Thus, in order to determine the prerequisites of of long-term target, it is necessary to examine the different sorts of students.

Secondly, although some may say that young people with realistic aim, may have more chance to perseverance. The real picture of it, however, is that long-term plans means that you will not having any benefits within sort amount of time. That will make teenagers want to give up. When they see their peers who seeks immediate aims already standing on the podium, and they still do not having any prize. They will start to question themselves whether their goals is right, whether they are idiot, or even whether should they give up. As a result, having a long term could have high possibility to frustrate young people.

Lastly, some may still argue that, people who having immediate fame or recognition may not able to do so in the future. The supporters of this argument must be reminded that, the experience and the fame or even the person they notice which having short-term goals have is unexchangeable. Those fame or some powerful person will make them much easier to succeed after. If a panter met some buyers due to their fame, those buyers are more likely to buy the painters picture after years, and therefore, they are more likely to succeed in the future.

In summary, this claim is not persuasive as it stands. Although having realistic aim may sometimes benefit youngsters, there still lots of disadvantage within it. If teenagers can properly utilize their fame, they have higher chance to win those who having long-term goal.