Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: The most effective way for government to encourage energy conservation is increasing the price of gasoline and electricity.

If the aim is to encourage energy conservation, what will that method be? Although some believe increasing the price of gasoline and electricity is the most effective way, there are still lots of strategies which is better than this one.

It is so argued that people will aware the issue of reducing energy waste, if the price is increased. Because they can feel the bad consequence, when they waste electricity. Supporters of this argument must be reminded that, in practicality, this strategy do not actually solve the problem. People conserve energy because of paying price instead of protecting the environment. Thus, they may still waste electricity if one day the price decrease, or they may still use lots of plastic or other chemical material which will harm the environment. Moreover, some wealthy man may even don not care about the increasing of money. By contrast, propagating the photo of weak polar bear to make people aware the issue of global warming, or educating children to protect their earth is a greater way. People notice that they close the light which is not use or take buses is for the environment instead of themselves.

Supporters of encouraging people to conserve energy by increasing the price may still argue that method serve as a most immediate way to tackle the issue. Nonetheless, it must be noticed that the extra money spent on electricity may let large manufacturing company to move their factories to other countries. This will significantly harm local economy and let thousands of people lose their jobs. For example, in the past, there are lots of server companies which require lots of power in Europe. But, as the electricity price becomes higher and higher, those companies eventually move to China. By comparison, government can set a rule that which if there're evidences that anyone who waste energy on purpose, they will get fine. Furthermore, government can also subsidize those companies to develop machines that do not require less power. Those strategies can prevent companies from leaving the country and save energy.

Increasing the price of gasoline and electricity to encourage energy conservation is not necessarily a cog to make the machine of country run. There are still lots of methods can solve the problems and prevent the drawbacks of enhancing price from happening.