The government should offer internet access to all of citizens at no cost

When it comes to offering internet to all citizens, whether is it worth it or not? Although some believes it should definitely be done, it is putting money on different things that contribute the greatest benefits for those citizens.

It is so argued that government should build wi-fi or internet cable to all citizens at no cost, because without internet, people live in rural area may not know news around the world, besides people can learn some new knowledge through internet. The supporters of this argument must be reminded that, in practicality, there’re lots of people still don’t have electronic devices or don’t know how to use it. As a result, internet will be useless for them. Furthermore, they can still watch news through TV channel, and learn new knowledge or science through Discovery. By contrast, government can put money into buying computer and hiring some teachers to teach them how to use it. 9

Supporters of offering internet access to all civilians may still argue that without internet, kids in rural area cannot enter best college, because they don’t have enough resources. With internet, they can learn from best teacher around the world. The real picture of his idea, however, is that most of the children will use internet to play online video game. Hence, internet will not improve their learning but even decrease their grade. Moreover, most of the online courses are teach in English, and in Taiwan, students in those places don’t have great foreign language ability. By comparison, allocating more money to improve the infrastructure and assigning the best professor who specialize in education to teach local teacher how to improve their teaching materials and skill will be a more effective way. 14

Offering internet to all people is not necessarily a cog to make the country of machine run. Allocating money on providing free computer or hiring the best teacher may be a better way.