One of the greatest challenges in modern society is to have up-to-date skills for one’s work. To better achieve this, the government should give all adults over the age of 25 a training course to catch up their work skills. Do you think this is an effective way for government to spend its money?

If the aim is to help people find a job, whether is it necessarily to give all adults over the age of 25a training course? Although some believe that this policy will solve the problems of unemployment, there are still lots of methods which can tackle this issue.

It is so argued that people who cannot find a job is because they do not have up-to-date skills. Thus, taking a course to catch up their work skills will be helpful for them. Supporters of this argument must be reminded that, in practicality, those skills learned on class may still not meet the need of each company. Besides, the courses opened in rural area may not have suitable material to teach their students. For example, company such as mechanic require employers possess the knowledge of operating expensive machine. However, those training courses may not be able to afford high-cost equipment to educate students. By contrast, providing many internship programs by collaborating with local companies may serve as a better solution. Those companies have greatest facilities to train workers. Moreover, students who perform well can be directly employed by the companies--which solve the issues of finding suitable talents.

Supporters of giving every adult over the age of 25 to take training courses may still argue that despite the skills they learn from class may not fit the need of company, people can still learn new knowledge from it. The real picture of this statement, however, is that there lots of people who already have a decent job. Forcing them to take the class is not realistic. Students are likely to surf their smartphone or sleep during the class owing to being tired after work. Furthermore, requiring all adults to have a course must cost lots of money. Government should put money on something much useful. By comparison, government can just give part of people who cannot find the job a course and allocate the rest of the money on enhancing education. Making students who graduate from school have the ability that company truly need.

Giving all people over 25 a training course is not necessarily a cog to make the country of machine run. There are still lots of way such as enhancing education or offering internship can solve this problem.