In some cities, not many controls are placed on the design and construction of the new-built homes and offices, so people can build in whatever style they like. Do you think this is a good trend?

Whether people can build a house in whatever style they like is good Issue to discuss. Although some believe this idea stands as great policy, it is building under control by government contribute better benefits for people.

It is so argued that people should have right to build their house in their own way, since people pay the money to build it. Thus, they are free to do anything they like on their own territory. The supporters of this idea must be reminded that, in practicality, people will use everyplace of their land. As a result, there may be no space for emergency exit or fire extinguisher. As long as there is a fire, the consequence will be tragic. By contrast, if everyone follows the rule government set to make a house, they will be lots of infrastructures for security. For example, in Taiwan the structure of building should be strong enough to endure earthquake. Therefore, by following the regulation, lots of lives can be saved.

Supporters of designing whatever people like of new-built house may still argue that people can unleash their abilities to build the prettiest castle they dream about. The real picture of this argument, however, is that residents will choose the cheapest way to design the appearance a house. Even if the exterior of the house is dirty or ugly, they will not pay the money to fix it. As time go by, it will hurt the image of this city. Moreover, people from another place will not be willing to move in. By comparison, when the city is design under the control of government, the appearance will be clean and beautiful. Business store or other citizens may therefore desire to stay in. As a result, the town can grow bigger and bigger, and provide lots of jobs for local people.

Constructing homes or office whatever style people like is not necessarily a cog to make the city of machine run. There are still lots of disadvantages such as security issues or design of the house that make it a bad policy.