Do you agree or disagree: the universities should spend more money in improving facilities(libraries, computer labs) than hiring famous teacher?

If the aim is to let university be better, what will that activity be? Although some believe improving facilities stands as the priority choice, it is hiring famous teacher contribute greatest benefits for students.

It is so argued that universities should spend more money on improving facilities such as cozy dormitory or advanced labs, because it could be used for propaganda and attract more students. The supporters of this idea must be reminded that, in practicality, although those facilities can comfort students, but it couldn’t fulfill what students truly require. By contrast, famous teacher often has a good teaching experience and great research ability. With more excellent papers writing from those professors, the rank of college may improve. Besides students graduate from this college could have more competitiveness and more chance to enter better companies. This is exactly what students need and could actually attract more students.

Supporters of allocating money into amenities may still argue that without an advanced lab, students could not research some certain topic. The real picture of this argument, however, is that most of the labs universities build are outdating, and companies has already not used those old technology. Furthermore, those labs could only be used for few students researching certain project, so the money could not be equally distributed to all students. By comparison, famous professor usually has connection between some famous companies which has the most advanced machines could allow students practice for. Moreover, universities can allow those famous teachers using big classroom, or film online courses for those who couldn’t take the class or even students in other colleges. With this proposal, money could be used for more students.

So beneficial is hiring famous teacher that it must be taken into more serious consideration than improving facilities. It is this choice that can benefit the most students and let them enter better companies.