Some companies provide important products or services, but these

products or services also lead to damage on the environment. As a

consequence, some people claim government should resort to greater

penalty, tax, and fine to contain the harm made by these con

while many others believe there are better solutions. Which do you

think is the better way?

When it comes to proving important but damaging environment, whether is it necessarily to fine this company? Although some believe it is a good policy, it is finding other solutions contribute the greatest benefits for a country.

It is so argued that resorting greater penalty for a company who damage the environment is reasonable, since this is the only way for company to reduce their damage to environment. The supporters of this argument must be reminded that because of proving important products, this company may create thousands of jobs for the country. If the government fine these companies, they may likely to move to other countries where the environmental regulation is not strict. For example, in 1990, when Taiwan enroll restrict environmental laws, lots of bosses decided to move their factories to China, and it caused thousands of people lost their jobs. By contrast, if government subsidize those companies to develop new technology to reduce the emission of carbon-dioxide, or chemical substitute, they may not need to close their factories, and many people can retain their jobs. Moreover, this new tech can be sold to other countries, and make profits for the government.

Supporters of resorting higher tax for companies producing products which lead to damage on the environment may still argue that anyone should pay the price if they break the law. The real picture of this statement, however, is that not only does the company have to endure penalty, but consumers also have to pay higher price to buy the same products. Thus, it will add up additional costs for consumers and reduce the competitiveness of local companies. Eventually, consumers may start to choose products imported from other nations, and local business may force to be closed.

Giving penalty is not necessarily a cog to make the machine of country run. There are still lots of way such as giving subsidy can solve the problem.