Countries becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that thanks to global trade, people can purchase the same products wherever they live. Although this trend has some benefits, I would argue that this change is more likely to have a harmful impact.

On the one hand, there are a range of plausible reasons why this development can be positive. First and foremost is that it is convenient for citizens to buy products, especially busy people. An excellent example of this is that with only their home computer or mobile phone, buyers can make a purchase of useful books through the website of Amazon. Another point worth mentioning is that from an economic perspective, this trend may encourage people’s shopping. Obviously, the increasing competitiveness between companies can lead to the development of products which fulfill customer needs with competitive price.

On the other hand, I believe that these benefits are outweighed be the drawbacks. Firstly, from a cultural perspective, globalization may cause the disappearance of many traditions and as a result, there will be a decrease in global cultural diversity. An illustration of this is that in Viet Nam, citizens wear the same clothes such as jeans and T-shirt, rather than traditional costumes. Secondly, if customers do not buy goods via the Internet, they can easily test the quality of products in order to avoid taking the faulty products. It is undeniable that many companies may plead economic gains for producing and selling goods which are defective, even unhealthy to residents.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential demerits of this revolution are more significant than the possible benefits.