Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Several measures have been taken to ease out tension between nations, playing sports is one such measure which develops bond among countries. Do gaming events contribute to maintain friendly relationship with other nations and allow people to express their patriotism in a controlled way?. Yes indeed, I agree with the above school-of-thought to a great extent.

Admittedly, sometimes sporting events increases the hatred among nations instead of creating any bondage. Firstly, Greeks invented Olympics in 1944, to encourage collaboration among players of different countries and to share their culture. as we know, now it just serves the purpose of satisfying a country's pride by awarding medals. Secondly,India and Pakistan are rivals and always have political or national tension between them. Similarly people from both these nations indulge in degrading and provoking opponent team's players, particularly when cricket matches are held.

However, there are some sporting events which really contribute to develop fruitful relation. For instance,Tennis, a famous sport - allows mixed countrymen/countrywomen to play as a team which brings spectators from different countries together to support other nation's players irrespective of their origin. Recently, another notable event has been introduced - Indian Premier League, that gathers players from different nations and unites them as a single team. This very event has become a huge success because of the value it brings in associating spirits of every nation and melting away man-made borders and barriers.

To conclude, as discussed earlier, my persuasive argument is - sports play the first and foremost role in developing friendly and fruitful relationships globally. Having said that, if all sports comprises of mixed teams similar to Indian Premier League and tennis, it would be advantageous to enhance sportsmanship and ties among nations.