In some large cities, people have to pay a fee when they drive their cars into the city Centre, in a policy to reduce the number of cars in the city.

Give reason in support of and opposing the policy, and give your own opinion.

The increasing number of automobiles is a major problem in metropolitan cities throughout the world. Owing to the fact, a policy which obligates citizens pay a fee when they use cars is introduced with the intention of reducing a number of private vehicles on the boulevard. While it is a good method to cope with the problem, I have taken up against the perception inasmuch as overloaded cars on the road are a crucial issue which requires integrated solutions so as to flattening the number of vehicles.

Encouraging people using automobiles to pay retribution is an innovative idea to reduce numerous cars on the road. This is because the citizens will think twice when they want to travel by driving their private automobiles. As an obvious example, Electronic Road Pricing (ERP System) has been implemented on several boulevards in Jakarta. The purpose of the system is to reduce the amount of traffic jam which is caused by the burst of cars on the road. Consequently, there has a gradual fall in a number of cars in Jakarta since the policy has been implemented. Nevertheless, the solution does no longer exist because the well-off people in the city can use their own cars by paying a fee regardless of the risk.

Apparently, government needs a policy which consists of integrated solutions to reduce a number of automobiles. It can be argued that a council should cope with several ideas which are connected each other. Take a London as an example; the city council improves public transportation to be more comfortable while ERP is also implemented in the metropolis. Moreover, the government raises a higher tax for car owners from £100 per a car in 2013 to £1,200 in this year. Furthermore, 69 % of boulevards are overtaken by pedestrians. The actions are implemented and connected each other at the same time as a fee is required for car drivers.

In conclusion, while paying a fee by people who want to use private vehicles is a good policy to drop a total of automobiles on the road, I would argue integrated methods are needed to solve the matter of overloaded cars on the street. It is imperative that city councils should come up with brilliant ideas to flat numerous cars on the street.