Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different lifestyles. There are numerous conflicting ideas between those who believe people should avoid changing their lifestyle, and others who assert that change is always a good thing. In what follows, both these viewpoints will first discussed, and then my own position would be delineated.

To begin with, the primary reason for those who prefer to follow same routines in their lifes is that they think following the same schedules improve people’s performance because they become familiar with it and can handle it easily. It helps to think of a student who wants to progress in English. If he does the same things everyday, he would experience an impressive improvement because after a short period he has an intimate knowledge of his method of studying; therefore, it is obvious why many gravitate towards this point of view.

However, those who claim that people always benefit from changing think that doing the same things causes that things become insipid; hence, changing can raise morale by avoiding things become bland. For instance, if the concerned student does the same things in order to improve his English, learning English might become pedestrian; consequently, the student would leaves studying it. After considering this fact, it is clear why this idea is supported by many.

As for my point of view, I should say that I lodge myself somewhere between these viewpoints. In fact, what is missing in both these ideas is that the impact of change depends on person itself. Although a particular change can encourage a person in his way towards his goal by its novelty, another person can become worried because he is not used to the new things.

To sum up, for reasons related to becoming familiar with the method of doing some thing and avoiding things become bland, the issue of changing lifestyle is agreed with and refuted by many. I personally think that it relies on person’s personality. Some people may show better performance when they change their lives; however, others may show lackluster performance after changing their way of life.