15. The key to solving environmental problem is simple: present generation are willing to accept a less comfortable life for the sake of the future generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been discussed for decades about how to tackle the environmental problem on our planet. Some people argued that human beings can simply with lower standards to give the next generations a better future. However, I strongly disagree with this point of view because many people would not like to have a lifestyle which worse than what they have been having, and even though some of them want to make a change, the problem cannot be solved without actions from governments.

To begin with, it is unrealistic that ask people to sacrifice with a less comfortable life. Many people, especially residents in under-developing countries, are actually unsatisfied with their current living conditions. They are struggling for a more comfortable life. For instance, most of the young people in China still need to work extremely hard to purchase a house, to have a car and to lead the life that they want. Those who are working for a living will need more daily necessities like food and clothes when they have money. They are going to damaging the environment as they are consuming more goods.

To consider another side, it is undeniable that some of the people who are concerning about the environment are willing to sacrifice for their children and grandchildren. Normally, the main reason why they can think about others and can care about global problems is that they already have what they need and do not need more materials. However, even though there are people who would like to try, it’s difficult to change due to the limited impact they will make. Instead, only if all the governments over the world work together, appeal for a change and set up laws, can the environmental problem be solved.

In conclusion, it is unrealistic to deal with the environmental problem by sacrificing the comfortable lives individuals have. Millions of people would not do that, and it will not have a significant effect. I believe governments can do more in this problem.