Some people say that teachers and parents should decide what assignment or activities children should do after school. Others say that children should make these decisions on their own. Which view do you agree with and why?

It is widely believed that assignments and extracurricular activities are methods that teachers and parents use to assist education for children. They commonly assign missions after a thorough consideration because both teachers and parents want their students or kids can learn as well as they expect. Some experts suggest kids make these decisions on their own due to their personal interests. According to my perspective, however, I do think kids are mature and rational enough to do that.

First and foremost, kids will have less time on studying or other meaningful activities if they can choose what to do in their free time. It should be noted that not all school kids love to study. On the contrary, they love to explore the world around them, paying little attention to their academic work. My cousin, James, is a classic example. His parents have to work on Sundays and allow him to manage his time. Sundays are his playing day when he could watch TV, play video games, hang out with friends, but never study. Without parents and teachers to supervise him, he wastes days to have fun. Thus, some assignments and activities from parents or teachers can help children seize the time.

In addition, some assignments made by children are low-efficiency. Kids, especially young kids, are lack the ability to make their schedules or plans in a scientific way. Some necessary parts, such as proper breaks, diverse activities and reviews may be ignored in children’s plans. In contrast, adults are capable to plan things in a long run. In order to do things effectively and efficiently, it is adults’ supervision that is indispensable for kids.

It is not deniable that kids may dislike the assignments and activities form parents and teachers and then do the opposite things of that. However, in light of the above-mentioned possibility, I suggest that when parents and teachers help kids to make decisions, they should never forget children’s interests and willingness.

Negotiations and communications should be made to assign a suitable plan. Focusing on studying is a bad idea. Thus, this practice will leave nothing to be worried about.

In conclusion, children are too young to decide what to do after school. The help from parents and teachers can let them take fuller advantages of time.