2. People now have the freedom to work and live anywhere in the world due
to the development of communication technology and transportation. Do
the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?
The world of today has evolved beyond what it was decades ago, and it now
provides opportunities far beyond what people imagined. The advancements
made in the fields of transport and communication technology has enabled
individuals to build their lives and careers in any part of the world; the benefits
of which most certainly outweigh the cons.
The first major advantage, that one may enjoy, is the improvement in the
quality of life that accompanies living and working internationally. People are
able to choose where they live out of their own volition and often move to
places that provide exceptional amenities for its residents, such as free
healthcare, reduced taxes, and well built infrastructure. The second most
important benefit is the availability of a wide variety of jobs from around the
globe. A person has more options to choose from and will not feel limited by
where they are located.
On the other hand, there are some downsides to individuals being free to
move and work in other areas of the world. As technology has made it simple
to find work across continents, many of the local job roles are not filled. This
leads to a lack in the workforce in certain countries, which reduces their gross
domestic product. Another con faced, due to the improvement and ease of
transportation, is the lack of adequate infrastructure and housing for those
who choose to immigrate. Many cities do not have sustainable plans in place
for new entries, leading to increased living expenses, difficulty in finding
accommodations and any others.
In conclusion, there are some disadvantages to people finding jobs and creating
lives for themselves in other parts of the world due to a lack of employees
locally and insufficient planning for infrastructure. But the upsides of this
outweigh them as individuals lead a life of higher quality and are faced with
more choices for a career.