Research has shown that the transportation of products and people is the main source of pollution. Some people believe the government should be in charge of this, while others believe it is the fault of individuals.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

The transportation of products and people is that main source of pollution is what recent research has shown. This essay will discuss whether the government should be in charge of this or if the people must take responsibility.

The rise in pollution is a concern for every single one of us. Some believe that the government must be held responsible for this. As the governing body, they must take measures to prevent unnecessary pollution from vehicles during transport. One way this can be done is for public transport to be more efficient, reliable and comfortable so that people will be incentivised to take public transport instead of their own vehicles. The government can also make the public transport vehicles more eco-friendly so as to further reduce the emissions produced by transport vehicles.

While some believe that the government is responsible, others believe that every individual must hold themselves responsible. Even if public transport is provided, the people must choose to use it rather than take their own vehicles. If they do not wish to use public transport they must try to use a method known as carpooling where a group of people headed towards the same locality use a single vehicle owned by one of them thereby reducing the number of vehicles on the road and emissions. Use of cycles and walking must be implemented when going to nearby places.

In conclusion, while both views have valid points, my opinion is that each individual must take responsibility for their actions and come together to help reduce the number of vehicles on the road. Doing this will reduce the pollution due to transportation.