7.Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the Internet is beginning to rival newspaper as the best place to find information about the recent events. I believe that this trend will continue, and the importance of the Internet will surpass newspaper in the far future.

To begin with, we are now in the 21st century, where the development of the Internet is widely spread. With countless technical gadgets in hand such as smartphones, digital tablets, and notebooks, people can easily connect online and read a vast amount of information and articles on the various websites wherever they are. Furthermore, the exploration of social media platforms like Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram allow people to share articles and their comments which also encourage the discussion among people around the world. Finally, due to the instant characteristics of the Internet, events happened on the other side of the world can be followed on time as well. These aforementioned traits have successfully beaten newspaper and become the leader in the media industry.

Admittedly, there are still a group of people, the elderly in particular, enjoy reading newspaper. In their opinion, the sources from newspapers are more reliable because some column writers are professional journalists who has been well-trained. Besides, those love reading newspaper are simply fond of the feeling of holding paper and turning a new leaf rather than staring at the screen which does harm to eyes. Nevertheless, due to the revolution of the Internet, plenty of newspaper offices have shrunk their scales. Take the situation in Taiwan as an example, less families now still subscribe morning and evening newspaper. In the past, newspaper can still be seen sold in almost every stores, whereas, this situation is nearly nowhere to be seen. In my opinion, newspaper would be replaced by the Internet in the following decades.

By way of conclusion, Internet is a strong opponent which has prevailed newspaper to be the top choice when finding information. Although some people still read newspaper today, this situation will be changed in the next decades.