Advantage/ disadvantage

In today’s modern world, children, as a rule, have multiple numbers of various toys bought by their parents. There are many positive and negative effects that toys can have on the children. I, however, believe that the merits outstrip the demerits.

On the positive side, playing with such goods as the toys are, is beneficial for a child’s cognitive development. It supports enhancing infant’s imagination. Having tremendous number of realistic toys will make the child’s choice of his/her preference come true. And this not only makes the child happier, but also enables the parents to have an initial idea on what profession will the child use in the future. For example, in Armenia there is a special event in the families called “atamhatic”, where the child is placed in the middle of a variety of toys and his future profession is “predicted” based on his choice of the toy associated with a certain type of business.

Furthermore, playing with large number of toys has its advantage also for the health. Different toys require different movements, thus resulting in the involvement of varous muscles of a child. Moreover, they support also to the development of such important skills, as the motor skills, visual and spatial skills are.

On the downside, however, it is commonly said that the excess number of toys, more often than not, replace other crusial compontents in child’s life, as the books are. Reading books is irreplaceable in terms of information that may have lifelong importance. What is more, as most of the toys are created to entertain the child alone, they do not support to the development of socialising skills in the child.

To sum up, it is irrefutable that having large number of toys is beneficial for the child and its pros definitely overweigh the cons.