Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is this a positive or negative development?

From the past generation until this modern era, our lives are surrounded by advertisement. As a result, a growing amount of advertising invades our public and private spaces, and its effects also become significant in the society. In this essay, I would like to illustrate both benefits and drawbacks of advertisement with some relevant examples which would be explored in following paragraphs.

On the one hand, active advertising activities contribute to economic development by stimulating the market. Advertising is one of the key vehicles for marketing industrial goods and services. Without help of active advertising businesses can hardly publicize their products or brand. The more aggressively they advertise, the more chances they make to sell their goods. From consumer’s standpoint, advertising also plays an obvious role in making a right choice. Advertisements can be informative and provide a broader range of options that best fit for each consumer’s taste and value.

On the other side of coin, too much advertising is not without its social costs. First, the cost is growing, which gets a heavier burden to both the customers and the industry. Secondly, too much advertisement can encourage impulsive buying behavior to the consumers, and it can also misguide buyers by making it difficult to do the right decision. Lastly, as an industrial manager, frequent and persistent advertisement can cost a lot and reduce advertising effects.

Taking everything into account, while increasing advertisements can be said to be helpful for economic growth, it also comes with its downsides such as overconsumption and impulsive purchasing habit on people.