New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

From the past generation until this modern era, thanks to the advancement of technology, way of life style has huge change in this period in many different age groups. Particularly, children’s leisure activities have significant been changed a lot. It is true there are several merits, however, I believe the drawbacks are more significant than advantages. This essay will discuss both side of the matter and show the reason why disadvantages outweigh benefits.

To start with, it is not deniable, there are few advantages. In the first place, children in the past could only read a books or play with their peer groups outside. On the contrary, children in this period could relieve stress and entertain themselves by developed devices such as smart phone, computer and video games. What is more, these kind of tools are usually eye-catching, appealing and exciting. Thereby, children could learn various skills word usage, proper pronunciation and sense of imagination. At the same time, the obvious advantage to consider that they can develop their way of thinking and ability of using technological gadgets. Finally, it would broaden their horizons. As described above, children could be more familiarized and proficient about technology.

On the other side of the coin, several severe disadvantages are shown in this phenomenon. First and foremost, children have lack of self-control, it means they are easily exposed by games and TV programs. Because of this, they could have sedentary life style. For example, they tend not to do outdoor activities compared to the past. At the end, this habit consequently increase the risk of health problem like obesity and diabetes. Moreover, they would be addicted with the technological gadgets. This could possibly disrupt children’s study or responsibility. As a result, they would be faced with lower quality of life and worse academic performance.

Taking everything into account, I am convinced that although new technologies might have a positive impact on children to some extent, the drawbacks far overshadow the benefits.