Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that government should invest money to prevent illness through expending of promoting of healthy life style. While others believe the money should be used for actual patients. I partially agree with given topic due to several reasons and examples which would be explored in following paragraphs.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that advertise healthy life style would effective solution to prevent sedentary life style which is main factor of diabetes and obesity. This solution will lead the potential patients would not have serious illness unlike past few decades. For example, the public advertisement of smoking in Korea have reduced the amount of sales of cigarettes significantly. At the same time, the number of patients who are suffered lung cancer also decreased. This could be one of affirmative results of promoting healthy lifestyle by government.

On the other hand, the first priority of spending government fund of ministry of health should be spent for patients. Some patients should spend enormous money to cure or slower their disease. Taking American patients as a good example, Americans health care system is considerably poor, the citizen could not rely on national health care. Therefore, they apply private insurances which are expensive and complex. As a results, some patients abandon their life by themselves as they could not expect any financial aid from government. This is still tragic issue and example.

Taking everything into account, promoting healthy living is important and good solution for long sighted view. However, treatment should be first prior in health service spending.