Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us want to be and to look the same. To what extnet do you agree or disagree?

With the development of advanced technology, advertising has become more popular and had a strong influence on people. Many people believe that ads lead people to buy the same products, thus they easily lose the identity of their own. In my opinion, I partly disagree with this statement.

On the one hand, the rise of advertisements has an impact on their choices, especially buying the same things. Firstly, the influence of advertising is persuading consumers to buy despite being unnecessary for their lives. It often happens in the electronic field. For instance, many people would readily prefer to buy iPhones at expensive prices rather than other brands for the simple reason that is iPhone is more common and fashionable. As a result, the advertisement has stimulated the desire to own an iPhone, but its functions are quite similar to other phones. Moreover, ads make consumers believe that everything in the mass media, such as television, and the Internet is the latest trend. Therefore, people start tending to products advertised to become modern people and fashionable.

On the other hand, advertising cannot make everyone the same because they have different views and interests. Most people want to make them distinct, so it is challenging to change their styles into popular ones. In addition, the ads market is diverse; for example, the same item but with different prices and quality depending on the needs and financial ability of the buyer. Therefore, the last decision depends on spenders, advertisement only plays the role of additional information.

In conclusion, even though the effect of advertising increases significantly, the consumption of people is still difficult to be affected completely. Instead of attracting buyers by advertising, companies should improve the quality of their products.