Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that people today are becoming increasingly alike due to the influence of commercials. Personally, I disagree with this idea since there are also many advertisements that encourage us to be different form others.

On the one hand, I accept that advertising makes people less distinctive in some aspects. As most people today are preoccupied by heavy workloads and family commitments, they have to rely on commercials to make buying decisions. Because of this, many big multinational companies that can afford huge expenses on marketing are more likely to dominate the global market. For example, soft drink giant Coca-Cola’s advertisements have penetrated into every small town on this planet, and most people in most countries drink its products daily. From this point of view, people do become alike in terms of food, drink and dress.

On the other hand, I think many companies in these days promote their products and services by encouraging customers to be distinguished. The most famous example could be Steve Job’s Apple whose slogan is “thing different”. Apple’s devices, such as iPhone, iPad and MacBook, are aimed at a small group of people, the digital fans who are crease about new innovations and up-to-date technologies. The unique design and excellent quality can make these products quite different from most electronic devices on the market, and this is one of the reasons why Apple has become the most successful company in the world.

In conclusion, it seems to me that not all advertisements are encouraging us to become same individuals.