Some people believe that the government should support the development in agriculture such as farming and the creation of new types of fruits and vegetables. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that it is important for governments to pour money in the agriculture sector in order to develop new techniques that can improve the productivity and create new varieties of food products. personally, I agree with this idea, although these approaches may have some drawbacks.

On the one hand, I can understand the arguments against government funding for scientific research in agriculture. On an environmental level, many people are worrying about the environmental cost of new farming techniques. There are clear evidences showing that machine farming and monoculture can cause land deterioration that may pose a huge threat to a region’s future development. From a healthy perspective, GE foods, including new types of vegetables and fruits, have not yet been proven safe. Finally, free market economists argue that the agriculture industry should fund themselves like any other industries in today’s highly commercialized society.

On the other hand, I think the society would benefit more from government subsidizing the development in agriculture. If scientists can receive more money form authorities, they can accelerate the process of developing new crop species that can resist drought and pests, improving the production of foods. Food price would therefore drop, enabling the public have more disposable incomes. Besides, with the development in agricultural technologies, people today can enjoy a long menu of choices on their dining table, and this has significantly improved their quality of life. Some genetic modified vegetables, for instance, can be grown in dry lands, which means those who live in inland dry countries like Saudi Arabia can buy fresh fruits and vegetables in an affordable price.

In conclusion, I think it is beneficial for most people and society if the government support the development in agriculture financially.