News editors decide what to broadcast on television what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence this decision? Do we become used to bad news? Would it to be better if more good news was reported?

It is true that editors have to make difficult decisions about what news should be broadcasted or published, and there are various factors could affect their choices. I admit that we are exposed to plenty of negative stories every day, but I think it can benefit the society as a whole.

Editors face a wide range of considerations when choosing what news stories to focus on. Firstly, they need to cover news that are interested by the general public, since most news agencies are profit-driven, and they need to sell more advertisements. Secondly, editors have social responsibilities to inform the people about important events and issues, and they should therefore make an effort to report stories that are in the public interest, even though sometimes negative news may cause bad influences. Finally, editors are probably under multiple pressures form their employers politically or financially. For example, the owners of a newspaper may have their particular political views that they want to promote.

In my view, society would benefit more if media keep covering bad news. I also think that a part of our human nature could be sensitive to negative information that reminding us to be aware of the dangerous at the moment as well as in the future. Besides, big companies and authorities tend to mask bad things, such as corruption, discrimination and delinquency. Because of this, media have the right and obligation to supervise governments and other powerful organizations. For instance, reports about the explosion of Samsung Galaxy Note 7 last year had protected many customer from being hurt.

In conclusion, editors normally find it difficult to choose which news to present, and I think bad news on TV and newspapers could be positive for most people.