Some people think that media has influenced our lives in negative ways. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

It is true that modern people’s ideas and lifestyles are largely influenced by the media. While it is argued that these influences could be negative, I believe that there are far more benefits.

On the one hand, I understand that mass media could have an adverse impact on our lives in various ways. From a personal perspective, we are all bombarded by all kinds of advertisements that encourage us to buy more than we need. On the societal level, as the entire world often sees and hears the same cultural influence, like holly wood films, there is a risk that cultural variety may be reduced, leaving us with less art and inspirations. Besides, news agencies are normally under multiple pressures from owners to authorities, so they would promote particular political views that are favoured by their parties, and this could misguide the public.

Despite the arguments mentioned above, I believe that mass media can benefit individuals and society as a whole. With the supervision of journalists and news agencies, powerful big companies and authorities are less likely to cover bad things, such as corruption, discrimination and delinquency. Last year, for instance, the reports about the explosion of the famous smartphone brand Galaxy Note 7 have protected many customers form being hurt. In addition to this, many TV programmes and websites devote themselves to exploring the world, offering us opportunities to broaden our minds. Before mass media, by contrast, we may only live our lives knowing nothing about the world outside our village, and this may lead to bias and isolation. In other words, media plays an important role in building an equal and diverse society.

In conclusion, it seems to me that advantages of the influence of media overweigh disadvantages.