Air pollution has made cities become less pleasant places to live in recent years.

What do you think are the causes of this problem and what solutions can you suggest?

It is true that air contamination in many cities around the world is a major reason for locals' resentment. This issue can be attributed to several reasons, and some strategies can be implemented to alleviate it.

Two primary factors are responsible for air pollution in cities. The first of these is the overspreading of vehicles in major cities. Owning a car is no longer a challenge as the majority of dwellers of any cosmopolitan city can now obtain one with ease. This is mainly due to the unprecedented competition between auto manufacturers that provide people nearly everywhere with practical, powerful and reasonably priced cars. With these vast numbers of cars come more and more air pollution. Needless to say that cars' emissions of tremendous quantities of carbon dioxide and other gases are seriously detrimental to the quality of the atmosphere of cities, which exacerbate the issue of air pollution. Another worth mentioning factor in this regard is the existence of a growing number of factories in cities. A lot of combustion processes take place in these manufactories, which means more and more gases being emitted into the air.

However, a number of methods can help improve air quality in cities and cease the undergoing worsening of air pollution. Encouraging people to abandon their traditional cars that run on fossil fuels and replace them with more eco-friendly ones is one of the strategies. 'Hybrid cars' can make a difference, according to some studies, as they tend to release less CO2 and other harmful gases because they run on electricity rather than fossil fuels. If intensive awareness campaigns for this alternative are launched through mass media, coupled with the availability of more powerful, functional and cheaper electric cars, drivers will begin to participate. As for factories, governmental intervention should be made to move these into the countryside that is unpopulated. If this happens, cities' dwellers will most likely enjoy a better air quality.

In conclusion, air pollution is one issue that steals happiness from the inhabitants of cities. The massive number of cars and factories in cities seem to be responsible for a large part of this problem. To mitigate this, hybrid vehicles that are more environmentally-friendly should be encouraged, and factories need to be shifted to uninhabited lands.