Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

in what ways technology affected the types of relationships people make?

has this become a positive or negative development?

it is true that the methods of communication and interaction between people have changed, thanks to advanced technology, particularly the internet. this has led to the emergence of a new kind of friendships. Despite some negatives of this development, it is, by and large, a positive one.

With regard to the changes in relationships made through the internet, the prominent one is that people can now contact remote people. In contrast, people in the past resorted to their classmates, fellow workers, relatives and neighbours to make friendships. However, they now enjoy the ability to make relationships with others who are thousands of miles away from them. Undoubtedly, the internet is the responsible mediator for this significant change as people now enjoy a wide range of social websites and applications such as Facebook, Twitter, Whatsapp, Line, to name but a few.

The question of whether this is a positive or negative development is quite tricky because communication via the world wide Web has both advantages and disadvantages. one drawback is the absence of face-to-face communication which is vital in terms of developing social skills with the added benefit of the possibility it provides to enhance physical activity such as walking while talking. On the other hand, to me, online communication has more merits than downsides. Firstly, it has opened the door for communicators to keep in touch with others of various backgrounds, cultures and languages, the matter that results in a deeper understanding and tolerance between nations. In addition, thanks to online interaction, people can now expand their circles of friends, broaden their knowledge of the world, learn new non-native languages and enjoy free communication from the comfort of their home.

In conclusion, unprecedentedly advanced technology has facilitated the development of a new type of relationships which is the ability to make remote friends. Finally, I would like to reiterate that these relations are generally more advantageous than traditional ones as they offer a better knowledge of the world and enhance the sense of tolerance and equality between different nations, all being made conveniently, cheaply and with ease.