When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the function of a building is more important than its exterior aesthetics. I agree with this view, though I think that external appearance should not be neglected.

Regarding the external appearance, there are several benefits associated with having appealing buildings. It is true that human nature generally tends to beauty. Therefore, designing an attractive construction such as a school, university or company headquarters means that more students and employees will be passionate about having positions in such charming buildings. This can help businesspersons who run these organisations financially. Similarly, fancy restaurants and luxurious hotels pay significant attention to decoration and exterior aesthetics to attract more people to pay large sums of money. In short, it is clear that outward appearance plays an indisputable role especially in generating profits for entrepreneurs.

Nonetheless, I would argue that the function of a building should be the top priority. If a building fails to meet the basic function that it was made for, I doubt that its decoration can compensate. For instance, if a breathtaking hotel with up-to-date ornaments does not have elevators or the guest rooms are not spacious or lack windows, there will most likely not be as many guests as intended. Another point is that the importance of infrastructure of any building far outweighs its external appearance. A prime example here is what happened in Chile a few years ago when some attractive buildings collapsed due to a minor earthquake. If these buildings were constructed to be durable and functional rather than delicate but appealing, many souls might have been saved.

In conclusion, despite the importance of the outward appearance of buildings in attracting more people and making more money, I believe that functionality is more important both commercially and in the long run.