Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, the number of online news readers is at an increasing scale compared to those who prefer to receive news via newspapers. Despite this upward trend, it is often argued that newspapers will stay the essential source of news. Even though I believe in the importance of the latter in terms of reliability, I think that the internet is more significant in this regard for several reasons.

It is true that newspapers usually offer more credibility and thus might be seen as more reliable when compared to the internet as a whole. The percentage of fake and fabricated news presented through this medium is comparatively low. This is primarily because these newspapers usually belong to official and well-known organisations where a tiny mistake is often greatly criticised. This can lead people who depend on these sources to feel that they are more reliable and hence more important than other sources.

Nonetheless, the internet is here to stay, and people in this unprecedentedly advanced era tend to spend the vast majority of their spare time online. This means that the number of those enjoying online news is ever rising, making the internet an essential tool to chase the latest affairs.

Additionally, the internet has provided people with many options to keep updated all day round instead of waiting for the next version of journals or newspapers. For instance, people can easily subscribe to as many as they desire news pages on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, to name but a few. Similarly, they can conveniently download and install a myriad of newspaper apps that they trust on their smartphones so they can keep aware of all breaking news all the time.

In conclusion, I give credits to newspapers regarding credibility and reliability; however, I believe that the internet has become and will remain of more significance in this regard as it can provide users with their loved and trusted newspapers on-the-go, coupled with other numerous convenient options for news trackers.