Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your opinions.

Opinions are varied on whether building numerous sports centres is the most effective way to improve people's health or if there are other strategies that serve best in this regard. As far as I am concerned, providing more sports facilities can, undoubtedly, help enhance public health but other measures are also required to be coupled with this strategy to achieve better results.

On the one hand, constructing a larger number of sports facilities has positive impacts on public health. Many people who live in the countryside, for instance, lack access to gym centres and therefore the chance of them working out is limited to basic practices such as jogging. IF these centres are built over a broader extent of a country to include all cities and villages, more people will find it doable to join one and start exercising; thus improving their general health. This is mainly because regular training helps cardiovascular system become sufficiently active and oxygen can flow to all tissues, nourishing them and getting rid of hazardous substances.

Nonetheless, physical exercise is not the only ideal way to improve health, but other measures need to be considered besides it. One major beneficial method in this regard is adopting a healthy diet. Unfortunately, the fast food industry is ever rising in popularity, which means that many people consume large amounts of these mostly unhealthy meals. If authorities impose heavier taxes on these kinds of food, this popularity will gradually decline. It is also important for governments to publish many campaigns aiming at raising the public awareness of the importance of balanced meals that include fresh fruits and vegetables. Simultaneously, they ought to encourage people to abandon detrimental habits such as smoking and excessive alcoholism.

In conclusion, even though encouraging people to exercise by providing more sports facilities is extremely helpful in terms of public health, other measures should be implemented such as stimulating people to adopt a healthy diet and to abandon harmful habits. This way can achieve better results than adopting one measure without others.