Some people think that public health is a responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Opinions are different on whether authorities are the responsible party for public health or if it is the locals' responsibility. As far as I am concerned, both should take a part of this responsibility.

Governments, on the one hand, can implement several strategies to improve public health, so they are partly responsible. They control almost the entire food options in their countries. It is undeniable that diets play a significant role when it comes to public health. For instance, fast food outlets are notorious for their unhealthy meals. If governments restrict the overspreading of these, many benefits will be gained for the betterment of public health. Another way by which authorities can affect local's general health is by building a large number of gyms and training centres in all cities and rural areas, or even by placing simple training equipment in public parks. This is likely to encourage citizens to have a more active lifestyle by using these facilities, which would benefit their health.

However, people are also responsible for their health. Food and exercise freedom is a human right, and no one is allowed to control the food options or the physical activities of people. Even children, who are not mature enough to decide on these, should naturally be responsible by their parents. If governments apply all needed strategies to encourage a healthy lifestyle, the last say will always be for people themselves. To illustrate this, take smoking for example. Although nearly all smokers are aware of the detrimental and devastating effects that smoking has on their health, they still smoke. Thus, it is almost impossible for governments alone to control public health, let alone being solely responsible for it.

In conclusion, while governments are capable of limiting unhealthy diets and promoting training among inhabitants, the latter still have the free will to either accept or reject these attempts. Therefore, blaming one side for the deterioration of public health and exempting the other seems not logical to me.