Nowadays the way people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development

thanks to the advanced technology, the methods of communication and interaction between people have changed. One of these changes is the type of relationships people form nowadays. Overall, despite some disadvantages of relationships made online, I believe that they have brought about positive development.

while people in the past resorted to their relatives, neighbours, classmates and co-workers to make relationships, those who belong to the contemporary era have expanded their circles of friends, thanks to the internet. Relations between people have expanded to involve others who reside in the other half of the globe. Thousands of miles distances are no longer an obstacle to making friends from various backgrounds and cultures as there are a wide range of options facilitated demolishing these barriers. For example, in today's world, people enjoy a variety of social websites as well as applications meant for communication such as Facebook, Twitter, Whatsapp, Line, to name but a few. As a result, a new kind of relationships has emerged, which is remote friends.

Although technology has led to a number of negatives in this respect, I would argue that the benefits, by and large, outweigh these drawbacks. A primary downside is that people currently do not have to go out in order to contact their friends in-person, instead, they tend to chat with others online. Face-to-face communication is more advantageous than online interaction in terms of developing better social skills and the potential to have some physical activities together such as walking while talking. On the other hand, communication through the world wide Web has enabled people to keep in touch with others of different languages, traditions and cultures. this has resulted in a deeper understanding and tolerance between nations, which is a valuable goal needed in today's globalised world. In addition, technology means that people can now widen their knowledge about the world via contacting non-locals, and it provides them with an opportunity to learn non-native languages simply by practising these with their remote friends online.

In conclusion, the unprecedentedly advanced technology, particularly the internet, that people enjoy now has opened the door to make remote relationships, discover the world and keep in touch with others with ease. Even though this kind of relationships has few negatives, to me, the merits brought are more significant. If this technology had not been developed, people would neither have enjoyed wide circles of friends nor broadened their knowledge about the world and the different cultures.