All children should study a foreign language, starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement ?

Traditionally, children have begun studying a foreign language at later ages, such as, at the secondary school. However, educationists recommend that foreign languages should be introduced to all children in the earliest grades. I strongly agree with this opinion for the following reasons.

First of all, some people believe that parents should not let their children learn a foreign language too early. They maintain that children at primary schools may get confused by learning both their mother tongue and another language. Children may not be sure that some words are appropriately used in the native language or the second one, and then consequently, they can not become expert in either their mother language or the foreign one. However, scientists have shown that children may be confused in the first month of their study, but this confusion will never happen after that. Furthermore, it is proved that children's brains are still planned to acquire their mother language, and unlike adults, they are not distracted by many complex social problems.

Secondly, there is an opinion saying that children go to school to study standard subjects like mathematics or literature, and children do not have enough time at school to study a foreign language. However, it has claimed that putting a second language class on children's timetable at schools outweighs that disadvantage. According to researches, bilingualism children have better problem-solving skills, logical thinking and critical thinking that monolingualism children. Multilingualism children have to switch from one language to other when they communicate with people who speak different languages. It brings advantages not only in studying other logical subjects like maths or physics but also in the real-life. Children's commands of the language in late life will benefit from this early exposure when learning other languages. Humans are living in an era of modern technology: people hang out with foreigners via the internet, people do business with people from other countries, and foreign languages make these activities more accessible. Besides, people also gain a better understanding of different cultures thanks to their foreign language knowledge.

To sum up, although there is confusion in the learning language process, it is cannot be denied that young children's innate should be harnessed as soon as study a foreign language. The earliest grades period is the perfect time for children to learn a new language not only because it is proved by science but also because of the advantage it brings to children from cognitive development to the real-life activities.