The money spent on research has brought enormous benefits to mankind, but it could be more usefully applied. How far do you agree?

Whether people should spend money on science remains controversial. Some people think that because of enormous benefits that research has brought to humankind, we should invest financially in science while others claim that money could be more useful if it is used to tackle the crisis around the world. I partly agree with the former opinion.

It is argued by some people that money should be spent to solve problems like food crisis, poverty, and human health rather than to do research. They maintain that how can we research with an empty stomach and disease raging? While every 30 seconds an African child dies of hunger, should we use the money for laboratories?

However, there are many reasons for people to believe in investment for research. First of all, science is now playing an essential role in our lives as it effects on everything we do from eating to traveling. For example, we buy the food from the supermarket the flavors and additive have all been measured and tested scientifically. Another good example here is quantum computers. With its power, quantum computing could put a stop to traffic jams since quantum algorithms could take advantage of qubits' computational properties to determine the best route for drivers. The fastest supercomputers on Earth can not currently do it. Today's quantum computers are not there yet, so, scientists need to do more researches to create them. Without financial support, scientists cannot do it. Secondly, a commonly held belief is that the wealth of a nation is concerned with its scientific development. They claim that modern economics can not advance without a strong scientific base. A good example here is the USA, which produces a significant number of science graduates and has a thriving economy.

From that have been discussed above, we can give the conclusion that both points of view have their merits. Although human life has priority in our societies, the importance of research cannot be denied. Therefore, the government should spend money on both research and other human life issues.