The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend.

People worldwide are living longer. This trend changes not only in the trajectory of individual lives but also the shape of societies. In this essay, I will discuss both the pros and cons of an increasing number of elderly people.

On the one hand, a longer life brings with its opportunities, not only for older people and their families but also for societies as a whole. First, thanks to seniors' experience and knowledge, the older people can motivate and encourage their offspring becoming useful people for society. Economically speaking, older people are known as experienced workers in the community, so it is un-challenging for them to deal with severe problems. Consequently, companies will save time as well as finance for other developments. Furthermore, if people live longer, they will also work longer. The average working age is rose by the growth up of the retirement age. Thus, there is more labor force for society, especially for the developing countries.

However, it is argued that the extent of all opportunities and contributions above depends heavily on one factor: health. If the old people are dominated by declines in physical and mental capacity, the implications for them and for society are more negative. Young people have to spend their time and money together with depression and psychological problems to take care of their grandparents and parents. Besides, the increasing number of old people will mean more spending on health care. This issue needs to be considered when planning the healthcare budget for any country. At the same time, although, the older people have more experience than the young ones, it is not easy for them to adapt to the technology era. For example, almost old people do not know how to use the computer and the Internet, which are playing an important role nowadays. Moreover, if people work longer, there will be no promotion for the young generation since almost of positions in the society will be occupied by the older adults.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that the increasing number of old people brings significant advantages to society, but it also has many disadvantages. The government needs to find the solutions for population aging problem.