In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Nowadays, many countries are considering to build rapid train systems that make a connection between cities. They claim that this policy brings many benefits while others support the idea that the money should be used to improve the local infrastructure. In this essay, I will analyze both opinions before arriving a reasoned conclusion.

To start with, some people argue that plans like constructing high-speed railways are usually an inefficient use of public funds. First of all, they maintain that this kind of projects has a real cost far higher than their estimated budgets. Take for an example, the fast train which links Hanoi and Saigon in Vietnam took quadruple overspending budgets. In contrast, it is believed that the cost of improving the local transport like underground railways or bus systems is less expensive since these systems are already constructed, and the only work that we need to do is making it better for usage. Moreover, all the necessary facilities such as hospitals, companies, universities are available inside the city. So, the funding should be investigated to develop the local transport, especially in impoverished areas where people find difficulties to travel.

However, there are many reasons why most of the national budget should be investigated directly toward constructing high-speed railways. First, it cannot be denied that rapid train is more productive than the usual speed ones. Thanks to the development of railways, the product price can be dropped significantly. For instance, some foods that only can manufacture in a particular area, because of the weather conditions, can be transported effectively to other regions in only two hours instead of taking a whole day. Another advantage of constructing new railway lines is reducing environmental pollution since there will be fewer vehicles if people use rapid train systems. According to international researches, 80% of carbon dioxide emissions which caused the greenhouse effect and global warming come from private cars. Moreover, fuel sources like oil and gasoline which are used for vehicle operation can be saved for other industrial activities. Finally, high-speed transportation brings more opportunities for people to find a suitable job in other cites.

To sum up, both views have their merits, but I believe in many cases nation budget would be better to investigated in constructing new railway lines because of its essential advantages such as protecting the environment, decreasing goods price, and bring job opportunities for people.