The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It cannot be denied that people today have to face many climate-related problems such as air pollution, especially in big cities. Some people claim that the main reason which causes those problems is the increase rapidly in the number of vehicles on our roads, and it seems that growth is due to individually traveling for work, education, and shopping purposes. Therefore, probably, traffic using for those purposed have to restrict to reduce the amount of traffic in the cities. I disagree with this opinion for the following reasons.

First of all, it is undoubtedly correct to say that there are more and more people use private cars to travel and this put our environment in danger. Researches have shown that more than 80% of carbon dioxide emissions in the atmosphere come from private cars, so it is urgent to cut the amount of traffic as soon as possible. However, it is probably not the ideal long-term solution for traffic-related problems. People have to go to the offices to work, and children have to go to schools, so they have to use traffic every day. There would be better solutions which are developing public transports and think about environmentally friendly fuels. Some people complain that they are not using public transport because it is dirty and inconvenient like stations are far from their companies. Furthermore, carbon dioxide enters the atmosphere through burning fossil fuels, so if solar energy is used in all private cars, it will help reduce the level of carbon dioxide.

Besides, there is an opinion saying that we are living in an era of technology, so it is possible for people to work, study, or buy products online from home. They maintain that everything we need is available on the Internet: people can work at home with emails, children can study at home with online lectures; so, it is right to ban vehicles. However, although the technology for working, studying or shopping online makes this option a possibility, it would mean people have less freedom of choice, less social contact, and many health-related problems. This would have a significant<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> impact </span>on not only individuals but also a whole society. Therefore, it seems adverse effects outweigh the advantage of staying at home to work or study.

In conclusion, I think there are certain reasons to reduce the need for people to travel by using traffic on the roads, but it is most unlikely the acceptable solution. Perhaps, we have to think about a careful plan to develop facilitating public transport and the alternative energies.