Individuals can do nothing to change society. Any new developments can only be brought about governments and large institutions. How far do you agree or disagree?

Whether the governments and large institutions are more important than the individuals for our society remains controversial. Some people claim that to be alone human cannot bring any innovations to our society, so only governments and big institutions can do it. I partly disagree with this opinion for the following reasons.

First, it is impossible to deny that the governments have the strength, power, and money to realize and introduce new ideas; and large institutions can provide up to date equipment, model facilities and group working. It means people will not only save time and energy but also have the cooperation with others if they work for governments or in the large laboratories. However, this is where the creativity and outstanding ideals come in. Each provides their ideas, and after discussing and combining the ideas, together with the government’s power and money, there would be many changes that could bring benefit for society.

Furthermore, every part of society, including government and large institutions, consists of individual members. Governments have the rights to the further use of the new ideas and should listen to them. For instance, in Vietnam, a civilian suggested that the government should construct an overhead railway to reduce the traffic jams in the capital, Hanoi. Seeing the strategic importance of this railway, the government gave funds to build it. So now, the traffic problems which had been retained for a long time are almost solved. This is only one of the examples to prove that the whole of society benefits from the use of one person’s idea.

In conclusion, both individuals and large organizations, including governments, should join the hands together to bring the new developments for society.