Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extent do you agree?

Whether children should spend all their time at schools for studying academic subjects remains controversial. Some people think that school is the place for only studying, while others claim that schools should arrange time such that teenagers can work in a short time since children nowadays are lacking work environment knowledge. I entirely agree with the latter opinion for the following reasons.

It is, first, argued by some people that academic subjects for pupils at teenage more critical than work-based skills. They claim that these skills can be taught during working ages, while in general, pupils do not have enough time for studying to enter a high-rank university, which is the principal parents's expectation. However, there are no benefits to being exceptionally qualified if teenagers lack social skills and even do not know what to do in the daily life. By doing experience, even if it is only making the coffee or the cakes, young people will quickly learn work-based skills as well as social skills such as time management, communication skill, teamwork, and how to deal with people at all ages in the society.

Furthermore, some employers have recently suggested that there are more and more young people can graduate from a school or a university without any necessary tools to service in the world of employment. Having work experience demonstrates diligence and persistence in a real working context, which makes the students more employable. Besides, students can able to give a right decision in their plans and career for the future thanks to gaining experience outside of the schools. For example, one of my friend in high school decided to become a doctor instead of a secondary teacher as she planed before working as a volunteer in a hospital. So now, she is working in a big hospital with all her love and her persistence for her patients.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks to the idea of working experience like students might get distracted by work and not study, its benefits can not be denied. Schools, as well as pupils, should arrange a suitable timetable such that pupils can work a short time to gain experience outside of the schools.