Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It had been a controversial issue, for a long time, whether punishment for crimes should be fixed or the incentive is an influential factor that is crucial to be consideredl. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and extend my support for the latter opinion.

On the one hand, some people argue that the advantage of having one set of punishment for each crime overweigh its disadvantage. They maintain that fixing punishments will probably save not only much time but also an enormous amount of money that could otherwise save for other sectors such as education and health. For example, if the circumstances of individual crimes or the motivation for committing this action needs to be considered, the government has to spend nation budget for many factors such as the payment for the lawyers and police security. Another reason for believing this policy is that a fixed punishment for each crime could deter criminals since they would realize which punishment is going to strict. An international survey shows that the crime rates in some countries decline significantly after adopting a very strictly and hash punitive system.

However, fixing punishments seem to be an unfair justice system. It is possible for two people who commit murders to have entirely different motivations. For instance, one action is considered as self-defense when someone attacks her or him while the reason for other is because of the assent. Furthermore, in many cases, there are hidden reasons behind the crime committed. In many countries and communities, especially in the developing countries, poverty and blackmailing are strong factors influencing crime rates. Psychologically speaking, some psychologists claim that people act at present is directly influenced by some forgettable events in the past and multiple personality disorders is the main reason one person has crime act. Thus, it is crucial to consider all the circumstances surrounding a defendant or case to issue a just.

In my opinion, both arguments have their merits, but there is no reason to have a fixed punishment for each crime. Considering the circumstances behind each crime is paramount to reach a fair and just verdict for everyone in the society.