Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

More and more people are now living in another country for higher education, business, or tourism. There is an opinion saying that this would bring many social problems and practical problems, and I agree with this view.

It cannot be denied that living in a foreign country brings uncountable benefits such as improving communication skills, getting a global mindset, and having a cultural diversity. However, one can only achieve these advantages if and only if his/her language is fluency, otherwise there will be more drawbacks to one'social life. Because of the lack of language skills, people may isolate themselves from the local community. According to a survey, more than eighty percent of international students do not have any indigenous friends, and these students tend to play together in a small group which involved only students speaking the same language. Another issue worth mentioning is the conflictions between different cultures, different generations. For example, after living an extended period aboard, may young Vietnamese students are heavily influenced by the English-speaking culture. These people tend to keep the individual freedom and refuse to talk with their parents, whose has an ideology of youngsters have to obey the parental figrues.

Furthermore, communicating in a foreign language also brings numerous practical problems. There are many justifications for these issues. Educationally speaking, many indigenous students said that they would like not to have a foreigner in their groups when they have to do a project or teamwork. They maintain that instead of spending time on academic jobs like research or develop critical thinkings, they have to explain for the international student about the problem. Besides, in modern times, many customers, when coming to a local supermarket or shopping center, have trouble ordering because they can not read the label or ask the price of the products.

In conclusion, I am convinced that many social problems, as well as practical problems, are inevitable for who have the dream of a life in a country that they have to use a language which is not their mother tongue.