All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity? How could it be tackled?

Obesity is one of the biggest health problems in the world, affecting both adults and children. Many people seem to think that obesity are caused by unhealthy diet and lack of exercises. In this essay I will look at the main reasons of weight gain in people and propose some solutions.

The primary reason of increasing obesity level is that most people are eating gigantic portions of heavily processed foods. In addition, these days, ordering takeaway food and picking up meals with additives at a store are much easier than cooking healthy food oneself. For example, in my home town, it’s easier for people to get processed foods, as opposed to fruits and vegetables. To battle obesity effectively, authorities must put additional taxes on fattening food and increase the health of the populace by subsidizing all five food groups. Eventually, these actions would help people spend more money on real foods.

Another reason is that most people are less physically active and are avoiding to do physical exercises regularly. Not surprisingly, obesogenic environment such as sedentary jobs and busy schedules make people gain weight. For instance, in Western world, most people have to commute to work by their private cars. Officials should take steps to deal with this issue by focusing on the road infrastructure for bicycle riders and advertising it in mass media that cycling daily help to obese people loss their weight. This would rise pace of weight loss and help them to have the correct weight.

To conclude, overweight has become critical problem among children and adults because of bad eating habit and lack of exercise in a daily routine, so governments should take preventive actions as described above.