Universities are becoming increasingly expensive to operate. In some countries, money from taxation has met these costs. However, this is not always enough to maintain the quality of universities.

What are some ways universities could be funded in future?

Tertiary education has become unavailable for numerous students due to the increased cost of tuition fees. In many countries, therefore, it is not uncommon to see that the cost of education is often raised in order to keep its quality. I believe that an external funding and government support could be possible solutions to the issue.

Wealthy people, especially philanthropes can make an investment in universities. The first reason why they will direct a substantial amount of money in the future because they have graduated universities and are ready to assist them financially whenever these organizations are in need. Bill Gates, as an example, donates millions of dollars annually to the universities, particularly Cambridge University to support young talents. Besides, he will have doubled this amount by the next year. It is anticipated that in the near future there will be more and more young successful businessmen who will voluntarily contribute to the universities they finished, otherwise universities will not be available for everyone, and the quality of education, as a result, will have been decreased dramatically.

In addition to investors, government funding might address to the problem. It is commonly believed that most countries will have been flourishing by the end of the decade and therefore, are able to encourage their local universities to operate without financial crisis. Take, Finland as an example. The government has been supporting the half of its universities over twenty years, even though the country has experienced several economic meltdowns. In the future, it is estimated that this trend will be applied to more countries in the globe.

In conclusion, even if universities are struggling with finance to survive, investors can provide them with money, as well as, governments may support them in the long term. In my opinion, there will be available alternative solutions, but it will be relatively minor contributions.