Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain
the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?
The Internet is beginning to rival newspapers as the best place to find information about
what is happening in the world. I believe that this trend will continue, and the Internet will
soon be just as important as the traditional press.
On the one hand, I believe that newspapers will continue to be a vital source of
information, even in the Internet age. Firstly, newspapers are the most traditional means of
communicating the news, and not everyone wants to or is able to use the Internet instead.
For example, old people or those in rural areas might not have the ability or opportunity to
get online, while many of us simply prefer newspapers even if we do have Internet access.
Secondly, newspapers can be trusted as reliable sources of news because they employ
professional journalists and editors. Finally, many people like the experience of holding
and reading a paper rather than looking at a computer screen.
However, the Internet is likely to become just as popular as newspapers for a variety of
reasons. The main reason is that it allows us much faster access to news in real time and
wherever we are, on different gadgets and mobile devices. Another key benefit of online
news compared to newspapers is the ability to share articles, discuss them with other
people, give our views, and even contribute with our own updates on social media. For
example, there has been an explosion in the use of platforms like Twitter and YouTube
where anyone can share their news and views. A final point is that this source of news is
less damaging to the environment.
In conclusion, I disagree with the view that newspapers will continue to be the main source
of news, because I believe that the Internet will soon be equally important.