Animal species are becoming extinct as a result of human activities on
land and in sea. Why has this happened? What's the solution?
It is true that many terrestrial and marine animal species are now endangered as a
result of the actions of humans. Various forms of environmental destruction have
brought about this situation, and solutions must be found and implemented
urgently.
The decline in many animal species stems from pollution or habitat destruction.
Pollution resulting from human activity is one of the main reasons why many
animals are on the brink of extinction. Aquatic life, such as coral reefs, are
particularly sensitive to such irresponsible behaviour as the dumping of toxic
waste into oceans and rivers. Another important factor is the environmental
degradation caused by deforestation and the industrialization of agriculture.
Tigers in Indonesia, for example, rarely survive in the wild following the clearing
of rainforests, and they are now protected in designated wildlife reserves where, at
least, they have freedom to roam, to exhibit their natural behaviour andto
breed.
Solutions must be adopted to deal with this decline in animal species. Investment
in sanitation systems will help protect water sources on which humans and
international legislation strictly enforced to prevent actions such as the discharge
of chemical waste into the sea or the practice of whaling. In order to save
species from extinction, the conservation role of zoos must be prioritized. Many
zoos and safari parks, for example, now have successful captive breeding
programmes, of which the giant panda is perhaps the most famous. Endangered
species must be protected also in their natural habitats through the elimination of
poaching and the creation of more wildlife reserves.
In conclusion, humans are part of the animal kingdom and have a moral duty to
save species from extinction by taking steps to curb pollution and habitat
destruction.