Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Thanks to technology's rapid development, it is getting cheaper and more available to humankind. Thus, there is an increasing number of adults and students who are choosing to work and study from their own homes. In my opinion, despite its drawbacks, this is one of the most positive developments in the era we are living in.

Working and studying online may lead to various difficulties, such as lack of interaction for instance. Unlike traditional workplaces or classes where people can have face-to-face conversations, those who choose to do things on the Internet can only contact each other by texting or exchanging e-mails, they are unable to understand the opponent's thinking or facial expressions. Besides, high-tech devices usually cost an amount of money. Individuals, especially parents who are not wealthy enough will find it hard to help their children catch up with this international trend.

Despite disadvantages, working or studying from home can bring about a lot of benefits. The widespread of technology means there are a lot of chances for people to acknowledge themselves by attending courses from top-notch universities around the world or connecting with well-known persons. Furthermore, it does help those who live on a budget, because they can pay a smaller fee to maintain their work or study. And recently, due to the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic, people with the help of technology can still keep up with their jobs or lessons regardless of external conditions.

In conclusion, though there are still controversial problems, I believe working and studying from home is a forward-looking augmentation.